NAMM attendees will want to “Roam” over to She Rocks Awards on Jan. 26. The Women’s International Music Network (the WiMN) announced that Melissa Etheridge and The B-52s band members, Kate Pierson and Cindy Wilson, will be honored at the 6th annual She Rocks Awards, taking place at the “funky little shack” known as the House of Blues Anaheim.

Best known for her hit songs “I’m the Only One,” “Come to My Window” and the song that first propelled her career, “Bring Me Some Water,” Grammy Award- and Academy Award-winning artist Melissa Etheridge has been tearing up the charts and tearing off the roof since 1988 with her signature sound. Her current album, MEmphis Rock and Soul, was released in 2016 to critical acclaim, and features original songs as well as her interpretation of classics.

Kate Pierson and Cindy Wilson are original members of one of the most beloved party rock bands, The B-52s. Known for their unique musical and performance style, the band has made a permanent mark on the musical world with hits such as “Rock Lobster,” “Roam,” “Love Shack,” and many more. Celebrating The B-52s’ 40th anniversary, Pierson and Wilson continue to perform with the band, in addition to working on solo projects.

“We are so excited to honor these pioneering women who represent the diversity of musical styles we embrace at the She Rocks Awards,” said WiMN Founder Laura B. Whitmore. “Each has made lasting contributions to music, and has influenced countless female musicians and fans alike.”

No more articles