Yamaha has named 10 distinguished colleges and universities to its inaugural Yamaha Institution of Excellence program, recognizing commitment to innovation in the study of music.

This year’s recipients, chosen from schools across the country, are:

  • Auburn University
  • Berklee College of Music
  • Eastman School of Music, University of Rochester
  • University of Alabama in Huntsville
  • University of Kentucky School of Music
  • Southeast Missouri State University – Holland College of Arts and Media
  • SUNY Potsdam’s Crane School of Music
  • The New School – The College of Performing Arts
  • University of North Texas
  • University of Southern California – Thornton School of Music

Yamaha chooses its Institutions of Excellence for their dedication to providing unique and challenging experiences to music students through diversity of thought and curriculum. Additionally, the company recognizes them for exposing students to a wider variety of voices and opportunities.

“Each Institution of Excellence was selected for its extraordinary effort to prepare and equip modern music students in unique and meaningful ways,” said Dan Rodowicz, senior director, Institutional Sales, Yamaha. “For more than a century, Yamaha has focused on defining and elevating the quality of musical performance. This program demonstrates our commitment to finding, celebrating and collaborating with institutions who share our vision for music’s crucial role in society.”

According to Rodowicz, the Institution of Excellence program tailors that collaboration to each honoree’s unique mission, and the designation unlocks benefits for the institution, its faculty and its students. Each year, Yamaha will select new institutions for recognition and add them to the roster.

For more news from the Music & Sound Retailer, click here.

No more articles